Reviews

Review : Wayfarer : Alexandra Bracken

20983366

Title: Wayfarer

Author: Alexandra Bracken

Release Date: January 3rd 2017

Format: Physical Arc

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Page Count : 532 pages

Genre : Fantasy, Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Scifi

Reviewer : Taylor

 

Synopsis via goodreads

All Etta Spencer wanted was to make her violin debut when she was thrust into a treacherous world where the struggle for power could alter history. After losing the one thing that would have allowed her to protect the Timeline, and the one person worth fighting for, Etta awakens alone in an unknown place and time, exposed to the threat of the two groups who would rather see her dead than succeed. When help arrives, it comes from the last person Etta ever expected—Julian Ironwood, the Grand Master’s heir who has long been presumed dead, and whose dangerous alliance with a man from Etta’s past could put them both at risk.

Meanwhile, Nicholas and Sophia are racing through time in order to locate Etta and the missing astrolabe with Ironwood travelers hot on their trail. They cross paths with a mercenary-for-hire, a cheeky girl named Li Min who quickly develops a flirtation with Sophia. But as the three of them attempt to evade their pursuers, Nicholas soon realizes that one of his companions may have ulterior motives.

As Etta and Nicholas fight to make their way back to one another, from Imperial Russia to the Vatican catacombs, time is rapidly shifting and changing into something unrecognizable… and might just run out on both of them.

I received this book at Yallfest a big thank you to everyone involved!

I was looking forward to this book! Passenger was full of adventure and romance that had me reeling for more! In respect to Alexandra Bracken and her wishes this review will be spoiler free.

I loved Etta’s growth from start to end. I felt as though she regressed into someone without much of a voice in the first half of the book. She was torn between who to believe, where to put her trust, and how to do the right thing. From the first book continuing into Wayfarer Etta is faced with people lying to her over and over. How could she know what is right after going through that. It made her story very real and relateable. My one of the cons was that Etta and Nicholas are on separate journeys throughout this story. I missed the lightheaded butterflies in my stomach feeling I got in my stomach in the first book. HOWEVER, I understand why this was so important to their journey. It was lacking some of the passion and adventure also in comparison to book one.

We got to meet some new characters and get to know some old ones a bit better. I really enjoyed them all. There was one relationship in particular that had me worried a small bit about instalove. My fears did come to fruition with that relationship even though in the end I liked the pairing I felt as though it just happened to fast with them.
NICHOLAS my baby, my love, he is the ultimate book boyfriend! He makes some hard decisions this go around. It broke my heart watching him try to do the right thing over and over even at the expense of his own happiness.

The end of this book was PERFECT! I had simple minds Don’t you (forget about me) playing in the background proper 80’s movie style. I need to know if anyone else felt that!?
This was a great wrap up to an AMAZING SERIES. A solid four stars! Everyone get ready for a wonderful journey through time. Alexandra Bracken has done it once again! Happy reading and may the best pirate win!

                                                                        ★★★★

Favorite quote

to be added (struggling to choose one without spoilers!)

 

 

 

 

1 thought on “Review : Wayfarer : Alexandra Bracken”

Leave a Reply

