Reviews

Review : Carve The Mark : Veronica Roth

30117284Title: Carve The Mark

Author: Veronica Roth 

Release Date: January 17th 2017

Format: Physical Arc

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Page Count : 480

Genre : Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Epic, 

Reviewer : Taylor

 

Synopsis via Goodreads

Fans of Star Wars and Divergent will revel in internationally bestselling author Veronica Roth’s stunning new science-fiction fantasy series.

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power—something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive—no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive—or to destroy one another.

I was super lucky to get my hands on this. I was very excited when I heard Roth was doing another book so I had my hopes pretty high.

We are on a planet where the nations are divided we have Shotet who are violent and ruled with brutality and then we have Thuvhe which is ruled with peace (the Thuvhe also just agree and seem to not question much). These two nations do not get along. On this planet you have a few who are fate favored and everyone has a currentgift which is unique to each person.

This is a very character driven book so the plot is not very clear, however I really enjoyed that aspect. Cyra is our main female character she is a Shotet royal. I loved her. Her character development is one of the best parts of this book she has a strong outer shell but we get to see so much more from her than that.

Akos is our male lead and he was so much! He is from Thuvhe but has been taken by the Shotet. I loved that he was the soft character. THE BOY BLUSHES ALL THE TIME. It is a great switch to see the male soft and the female as the tough one. It is a good way to help break down gender stereotypes. 

I have seen some threads about the potential racism of this book. I did not see that. The two nations are very different but both have some serious faults that I think is going to be looked into a lot more in the next book. I think they are both on complete different ends of the spectrum to make it obvious that if you combined the thought process of each together it would make for a more well rounded group. I personally liked a lot of the Shotet people more. They are not all described as brutal and heartless. They see beauty and have festivals. I think that the Thuvhe are hiding a lot and in the coming book maybe we are going to find that they are not very good peace loving people but that is just my guess. Its hard to give my opinion with out giving away spoilers. I do not go for books that are racist one of my biggest peeves in YA is that it is not diverse enough. I believe everyone should read and decide for themselves.  

I did have some issues with some things through out the story. First when we met Eijeh he starts off as the strong older brother while Akos is just a small goofy little boy. In the same chapter something bad happens and Eijeh is a big wimp and Akos is all the sudden strong. It just seemed a little sloppy to me. She could have left out the bits about Eijeh being great in the first few pages and just described him as normal. 
My biggest issue was the first 100 pages are hard to get through. I found myself getting bored and sleepy. The first few days reading this was a struggle but if you power through that everything else is so worth it. There is Dual perspectives Cyra is first person while Akso is actually written in third. I did not mind that all, I know some people were not fans.

There is a romance in this and it is a slow build from nothing, to friends, to so much more! So people who hate ISNTALOVE you will not find that here!
All in all I really enjoyed it. I definitely recommended everyone give it chance. On my good reads it got four stairs since you cannot give actual half stars. That being said there was just so much slowness and the beginning and other small things.

I am going to have to go with 3.7 

            ★★

Favorite Quote 

DO NOT WANT TO GIVE SPOILERS

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s