Reviews

Review : Dreadnought : April Daniela

30279514

Title: Dreadnought

Author: April Daniels

Release Date: January 24th 2017

Format: eArc

Publisher: Diversion Publishing

Page Count : 276

Genre : Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fantasy, LGBTQ, Super Heroes

Reviewer : Taylor

Synopsis via Goodreads

Danny Tozer has a problem: she just inherited the powers of the world’s greatest superhero. Until Dreadnought fell out of the sky and died right in front of her, she was trying to keep people from finding out she’s transgender. But then her second-hand superpowers transformed her body into what she’s always thought it should be. Now there’s no hiding that she’s a girl.

It should be the happiest time of her life, but between her father’s dangerous obsession with curing her girlhood, her best friend suddenly acting like he’s entitled to date her, and the classmate who is secretly a masked vigilante, Danny’s first weeks living in a body that fits her are more difficult and complicated than she could have imagined.

She doesn’t have much time to adjust. Dreadnought’s murderer, a cyborg named Utopia, still haunts the streets of New Port City. If Danny can’t sort through the confusion of coming out, master her powers, and stop Utopia in time, humanity faces extinction.

Thank you to Diversion Publishing and Netgalley for providing me with this ARC in exchange for a honest review!

I love comic books so I was a tad nervous to start this! How would this characters hold up to all the popular superheroes. WELL they held up. Danny was an all over win for me. First she is a bad ass trans lesbian superhero need I even say more? Even though this is more action fantasy is has a bit of contemporary feel to it walking us through Danny’s struggle. We see her pre transition all the way through to empowered women. I really enjoyed Doc impossible and Calamity as well.

There was a few things that I could not get behind. One was the age range. I really felt that Danny needed to be aged up to around seventeen. At fifteen some of things she would say and do just did not feel like a fifteen year old. Two was pacing, I wish it had a couple more chapters! It started to feel rushed toward the end. However my biggest issue was the abuse. There is some major emotional abuse happening for years. Of course no one wants to admit it but its obviously happening. I felt that it was talked about a lot and then very last minute just brushed under the rug. Again maybe it was part of the pacing issue. I hope it is brought back up and resolved in the coming books.

I really enjoyed reading this and was genuinely sad when I got to the last page. I can’t wait for book two! I defiantly recommend reading this it was so fun! I am giving it  a 3.8!

 

★★

Favorite quote

“The lie is suffocating. Everything I have to play along, I feel like i’m betraying myself. Sometimes when I see myself in the mirror I get a little jolt, a little splash of fear sluicing down my spine.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

