Reviews

Review : The edge of everything : Jeff Giles

cover86725-medium

Title: The edge of everything

Author: Jeff Giles

Release Date: January 31st 2017

Format: eArc

Publisher:  Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Page Count : 368

Genre : Young Adult, Mystery, Fantasy,

Reviewer : Taylor

 

Synopsis Via Goodreads 

It’s been a shattering year for seventeen-year-old Zoe, who’s still reeling from her father’s shockingly sudden death in a caving accident and her neighbors’ mysterious disappearance from their own home. Then on a terrifying sub-zero, blizzardy night in Montana, she and her brother are brutally attacked in a cabin in the woods–only to be rescued by a mysterious bounty hunter they call X.

X is no ordinary bounty hunter. He is from a hell called the Lowlands, sent to claim the soul of Zoe’s evil attacker and others like him. Forbidden to reveal himself to anyone other than his victims, X casts aside the Lowlands’ rules for Zoe. As X and Zoe learn more about their different worlds, they begin to question the past, their fate, and their future. But escaping the Lowlands and the ties that bind X might mean the ultimate sacrifice for both of them.

Thank you to Bloomsbury USA Childrens Publishing and Netgalley for providing me with this ARC in exchange for a honest review! 

WOW WOW WOW! I am not sure where to start. This book was fantastic in so many different ways. I was very excited to read this as there has been a bunch of buzz going on for it lately. I am a tiny bit conflicted so I apologize if my review is scattered. I am going to start with everything I loved.

The characters are off the charts wonderful. Our male lead X is our brooding supernatural character, however cliché it sounds he has his uniqueness. I love the way he speaks, he was raised by one of our other side characters Ripper who was alive in the 1800s so you can imagine how lovely he sounds.  Zoe is our bad ass female lead. She is sarcastic, fierce, and real. She has her issues that she is working through but does her best to look strong. Val is Zoe best friend. She is a diverse fun character that I am DYING to see more of! Between the two of them the dialogue feels so authentic. They  talk about tumblr, instagram, and social media in general. It is really great to see that in a book because teens and adults are using these things on a regular bases in real life. It makes the characters seem very real. This is something to makes a fantasy world for possible.

Her mother and little brother give me life! The relationship with her mom is well done. She is struggling to hold the balance of being close to her mom especially since the death of her father but also the anger she finds herself stuck with as she learns more and more throughout the series that her mother was holding back secrets. Sweet Jonah our little bug! I just loved the relationships everyone built with him. He is like the glue to everything. Okay okay I could go on forever about all of them Dallas, Ripper, Banger, Brian, EVERYONE!

The story line was great it is split perspectives so for the better part of the book it was almost like having two stories in one. I was on the edge of my seat wanting to know what was going on. I could not put the book down because I was so invested in the plot and how things were unraveling.

NOW there is some SUPER insta love going on. I do not hate or like insta love. Sometimes the romance is so heady and great that I do not care if it makes since. With this story it seems like it comes out of absolutely no where. Yes he saved Zoe and Jonah but that is not enough in my opinion. I needed more development. We had such little time with them that I feel like I didn’t see them develop  the chemistry I was looking for.

All that being said I still loved the book and cannot wait for the next one. PLEASE LET THERE BE A NEXT ONE! This book would have been five stars if it had just a little more relationship development. Four stars! 

  ★★★★

Favorite quote

“There had been a wall separating two worlds–a wall that stood there for a reason. He had burned it down.

  

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review : The edge of everything : Jeff Giles”

Leave a Reply

