Reviews

Review : Victoria Aveyard : Kings Cage


30226723Author:
Victoria Aveyard

Release Date: February 7th 2017

Format: Hardcover

Publisher:  HarperTeen

Page Count : 528

Genre : Young Adult, Fantasy, Scifi, epic

Reviewer : Taylor

 

Synopsis Via Goodreads

In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s bestselling Red Queen series, allegiances are tested on every side. And when the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

GUYS! It has taken me to many days to finally write this but I needed to digest everything! I was ready to hate this book. I loved Red Queen so much but Glass Sword was not for me what so ever, because of this I was unsure how this one would turn out. Well it is safe to say that I LOVED IT!!  I was glued from start to finish I ended up reading this in a day because I just could not put it down.

This installment picks up where we left off in the second. Mare is now Mavens prisoner. She is trying to stay defiant and hopeful. It is no easy feat as the time continues to go by without the ability to use her power she is beginning to slowly deteriorate. There is also a lot of inner struggle with her trying to understand her former feelings for Maven. Which brings me to characters…

MARE BARROW, little lightning girl, MOST ANNOYING CHARACTER OF GLASS SWORD, was freaking amazing! She was such a relatable character, I really loved everything about her this time around.  We got to see so much of her and her strength but also her weakness. We truly see her falling to pieces mentally and physically. She is suffering from depression, PTSD, but also I feel like we see a small bit of Stockholm syndrome.

As we well know Maven was at first a love interest in Red Queen (they were me OTP, moment of silence while my ship sinks to the bottom of this deep deep ocean.) She does not know what parts of the Maven she loved actually exist or if any of it was ever real for that matter. This relationship was raw and real even while taking place in a fantasy world. It is the epitome of an emotionally abusive relationship. Example A. He is blaming her for where she is at. He does not care that he betrayed her or that he has taken her prisoner. The way Mavens twisted mind works it is okay because he “loves her” to use her. It is all a fault to her for not being obedient towards him see quote below ..

“You think I enjoy seeing you like this?” he murmurs. “You think I want to keep you prisoner?” Something hitches in his breath. “it’s the only way you’ll stay with me”

This brings me to Mavens character development. He is our bad guy by no way is that not established however we are also learning that Maven could and should have been a completely different person. Queen Elara messed so much in his mind that he is just a creation, a molding of what the Queen needed him to be. It does not mean that we should excuse his actions by any means but it does make him a rather interesting character.

I loved Evangeline and this quote “The title is so delicious I want to lick the words right out of her mouth.” OMG that is all I will say about that!!!

I was not a Cal shipper in the first book and I still am not now. However that being said he became a better character for me this time around. I started to see the appeal of him for Mare. There were moments when he warmed my heart or made me laugh. I do not think he should be the OTP though. I don’t really think anyone should be. I almost think Mare needs to just be alone without any of the male characters we have met. I also am a tad worried she may end up dying in the end of the series.

I liked the split perspective because it kept us informed throughout of both sides of the story. Cameron also helped me to understand Mares actions in the second book a little bit better. She has a line “No wonder she has personality issues. No one tells the girl the truth about anything” That really opened my eyes to the fact that from the start someone from both sides had been using her as a means to the end.

I was blown away by this book it was amazing and the end MY GOD THE END. It is going to be a terrible wait for the next. FIVE DAMN STARS!

 ★★★★★

 

Favorite quotes

“The same? No.” He shakes his head. “But perhaps… we’re even?”

“Not a god’s chosen, but a god’s cursed.”

“It would be easy to stay in the dark, to drown. Slowly, I lower my hands and force myself to look at the sunlight.

unnamed-5

1 thought on “Review : Victoria Aveyard : Kings Cage”

Leave a Reply

