Reviews

Review: When We Collided by Emery Lord

whenwecollidedTitle : When We Collided

Author: Emery Lord

Release Date: April 6th, 2016

Publisher:  Bloomsbury

Page Count : 352

Genre : Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

 

Reviewer: Fay

 

Synopsis from Goodreads:

 

We are seventeen and shattered and still dancing. We have messy, throbbing hearts, and we are stronger than anyone could ever know…

Jonah never thought a girl like Vivi would come along.

Vivi didn’t know Jonah would light up her world.

Neither of them expected a summer like this…a summer that would rewrite their futures.

In an unflinching story about new love, old wounds, and forces beyond our control, two teens find that when you collide with the right person at just the right time, it will change you forever.

 

Fay’s Rating: ★★★★☆

I had trouble getting into this book at first, the beginning didn’t really grip me. But as soon as I clicked that Vivi was bipolar I was a lot more intrigued.
I’m pleased to say I was able to identify her illness before it was confirmed in the book so it was evident that it was researched. However, it is very…. by the book. She seemed to display every well known symptom of bipolar disorder and it didn’t stray much from these which was a little disappointing.

I probably shouldn’t have read this when I was in a depressive episode of my own, as this triggered me quite badly and resulted in assisting with my latest breakdown. So if you are suffering with a mental illness, I strongly recommend you read this when you are in a good state of mind.

I enjoyed reading Jonah’s POV. As someone who has had a parent who has been in that mindset, it was interesting to be able to see it from the outside. Seeing the small things slowly build up and start to affect his own mental health was eye opening. A lot of people don’t realise that it takes it’s toll on the people around you and it was important to see Jonah’s mental revolve slowly etch away.

The ending was a little disappointing for me. As someone who loves a lovely happily ever after, I was left feeling a little hollow, but it is very bittersweet. 

All in all, a very interesting and mind-altering read. I recommend everyone to read this book at some point in their life. There is a huge stigma around mental health still and I think this is a great way in getting some information out there about it to young adults.

Favourite quote: “My dark days made me strong. Or maybe I already was strong, and they made me prove it.”

1 thought on “Review: When We Collided by Emery Lord”

Leave a Reply

