Reviews

Review : You’re Welcome, Universe : Whitney Gardner

25701463Title : You’re Welcome, Universe

Author: Whitney Gardner

Release Date: March 7th 2017

Format: eArc

Publisher:  Knopf

Page Count : 304

Genre : Young Adult, Disability, contemporary,

Reviewer : Taylor

Synopsis Via Goodreads

A vibrant, edgy, fresh new YA voice for fans of More Happy Than Not and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, packed with interior graffiti.

When Julia finds a slur about her best friend scrawled across the back of the Kingston School for the Deaf, she covers it up with a beautiful (albeit illegal) graffiti mural.

Her supposed best friend snitches, the principal expels her, and her two mothers set Julia up with a one-way ticket to a “mainstream” school in the suburbs, where she’s treated like an outcast as the only deaf student. The last thing she has left is her art, and not even Banksy himself could convince her to give that up.

Out in the ’burbs, Julia paints anywhere she can, eager to claim some turf of her own. But Julia soon learns that she might not be the only vandal in town. Someone is adding to her tags, making them better, showing off—and showing Julia up in the process. She expected her art might get painted over by cops. But she never imagined getting dragged into a full-blown graffiti war.

Told with wit and grit by debut author Whitney Gardner, who also provides gorgeous interior illustrations of Julia’s graffiti tags, You’re Welcome, Universe introduces audiences to a one-of-a-kind protagonist who is unabashedly herself no matter what life throws in her way.

So many amazing things to say about this! This story is about Julia she is a graffiti artist who turned something ugly into something beautiful on the wall of her High school in order to stand up for her best friend only to have it bite her in the butt. Julia is one of my absolute favorite new characters. She was a supreme bad ass. She has no filter or fear to be herself and I loved that. She is transferred into a mainstream hearing school for the first time in her life. The people around her start treating her like an outcast without even giving her a chance. The only person who wants to get to know her is a girl we know as YP.
I love the friendship that develops between these two girls. I was getting all the bad ass girl power feels while reading this. I really loved the dialogue and interaction between all the characters. It felt very real to how I remember high school being. There is also cursing in this book and I found it refreshing because teens curse at least I know I did.
This book has a lot of diversity and different issues going on in the side story. There is bullying and eating disorders but they don’t drive the story. The exist on the side and don’t get brushed over.
Julia is Deaf, she has two moms, she is Indian, NONE of this defines her and I loved that so much. She is a diverse character but the only thing that makes her is art. She never lets people call her that poor deaf girl. She is deaf and thats okay she wouldn’t change it because its part of her and she loves the community of people she is with. I loved that Deaf culture was represented here. Even when someone throws a racial sure at her she does not let it define her. Art is who she is, what she lives and breathes for! I’m not even sure what to say because I don’t want to give too much away!
I loved this so much PLEASE go buy it and read it, then come talk to me about it!
FIVE STARS

★★★★

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s