Reviews

Review : Goodbye Days : Jeff Zentner


Title:
 Goodbye Days

Author: Jeff Zentner

Release Date: March 7th 2017

Format: E Arc

Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers

Page Count : 416

Genre : Young Adult, Contemporary, AMAZING 

Reviewer : Taylor

Synopsis via Goodreads

Can a text message destroy your life?

Carver Briggs never thought a simple text would cause a fatal crash, killing his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. Now Carver can’t stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, there could be a criminal investigation into the deaths.

Then Blake’s grandmother asks Carver to remember her grandson with a ‘goodbye day’ together. Carver has his misgivings, but he starts to help the families of his lost friends grieve with their own memorial days, along with Eli’s bereaved girlfriend Jesmyn. But not everyone is willing to forgive. Carver’s own despair and guilt threatens to pull him under into panic and anxiety as he faces punishment for his terrible mistake. Can the goodbye days really help?

Stop what you are doing and go order this book! It needs to be read! I read this a few weeks ago as an Arc and WOW. This is one of the books that could change someone’s life. I mean let’s start with the very first line of the book.

“Depending on who — sorry, whom– you ask, I may have killed my three best friends.”

The book follows Carver Briggs after his three best friends died due to texting and driving. Texting him to be exact. Carver is suffering with feeling responsible for the accident and also learning how to live without them. Carver stuck with his main group, he never really ventured out with other people. We This story took all my emotions and made them mush. I cried a river that’s for sure. To add to all he is going through this is the start of his senior year at his arts high school.

I can’t even chose where to start the characters were so well developed and rich. I felt like I knew every single person at some point in my life. The three characters that passed all show up in different way’s through the story. All in the arts school for different things. The artist, musician, comedian, and of course Carver our writer. Each so individual but so perfect for each other. Through this tragedy we also meet Jesmyn she was the girlfriend of one of his friends Eli who passed. She is a wonderful character. I had a friend pass away my senior year of high school. At the time of his death he had been dating a girl for a short period of time. It was hard for her to figure out where her grief sat compared to ours because of how long he had been a part of our lives. Because of that I was very enthralled by Jesmyn throughout this whole story. She also has synesthesia it causes her to see color to match the sounds she hears. THAT MADE FOR SOME BEAUTIFUL LYRICAL MOMENTS example

“It’s like Eli’s dying broke something in me, and now I have this weird sickly greenish-yellow photo filter over everything I do. It’s horrible to have something I love so much feel so completely wrong.”

We meet all the parents of the deceased. All very different in how they are handling grief. It was heart wrenching. This entire book was heartbreaking. I truly believe it is one of those books every teen should have to read before getting their license. Carver learns that sometimes it isn’t just a text.

“Where are you guys? Text me back.”

Jeff Zentner truly has a beautiful way with words. If I could pick my favorite book to quote ever this might be it. It was written in a way that makes you lose yourself in the words on the page. This book was amazing 5 stars. Please read. PLEASE.

★★★★★★★★★

One of my thousand favorite quotes
“I tell her how every time I said goodbye to him, it cast a faint shadow on my life– muting every color –until I saw him again.”

Leave a Reply

