Reviews

Review : One of Us Is Lying : Karen M. McManus

 

32571395Author: Karen M. McManus

Title: One of Us Is Lying

Release Date: May 30th, 2017

Format: eArc

Publisher:  Delacorte Press

Page Count : 368

Genre : Young Adult, contemporary, Mystery, Thriller

Reviewer : Taylor

 

Synopsis Via Goodreads :

One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.

Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.

Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.

Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.

Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.

And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

Sorry for my MIAness lately. I started a new position at my work and it has been keeping a bit busy. That being said I AM NOT going to neglect my blog anymore.

BIG thank you to netgalley and publishers for this ARC. I saw the premise and was desperate to get my hands on this!!! So to say my expectations were high is an understatement. A thriller twist on the breakfast club and it did not disappoint.

The characters were super fleshed out! I was worried that switch back and forth would throw off the story, but they all stood so well on there own that I couldn’t stop reading AT ALL. I loved them all so much it is hard to choose! My favorite was Addy this girl grew leaps and bounds in front of our eyes and it was a fantastic transformation! Bad boy sexy pants Nate was everything I could hope for from the “criminal.” Nerd extraordinaire Bronwyn being a girl was GREAT. Cooper my heart! Just everyone was great.

The plot was good. I was interested the whole way through and could not wait to finish the book. That being said the major plot point was very obvious to may pretty early in. I had a guess to what really happened and I was right. That all being said I still really enjoyed the book. The pacing, the writing, the characters, and of course the story. This is a damn good debut from Karen McManus. Please write us more books about anything! McManus is a new insta buy for me! FOUR STARS!!!

051445-glossy-black-icon-natural-wonders-stars15-in-circle051445-glossy-black-icon-natural-wonders-stars15-in-circle051445-glossy-black-icon-natural-wonders-stars15-in-circle051445-glossy-black-icon-natural-wonders-stars15-in-circle

3 thoughts on “Review : One of Us Is Lying : Karen M. McManus”

Leave a Reply

