Reviews

Review : Paper Hearts : Ali Novak

33584564

Author: Ali Novak

Title: Paper Hearts

Release Date: July 4th, 2017

Format: eArc

Publisher:  Sourcebooks

Page Count : 384

Genre : Young Adult, contemporary, 

Reviewer : Taylor

 

 

Synopsis Via Goodreads

“I’m sorry,” he said, slowly untying the ribbon that held his mask in place. “It’s just-I didn’t want you to think of me any differently.”

Somehow I kept my mouth from falling open. I knew his face, but my mind couldn’t accept that he was the person looking down at me.

“My real name is Alec.”

Felicity has her entire future planned. Ever since her older sister ran away, she’s had the full weight of her mother’s expectations on her shoulders. So she works hard to get straight As and save for college.

Except sometimes the best things in life are unplanned-like when Felicity meets a handsome, masked stranger while she is volunteering at a charity masquerade ball. She never thought he’d flirt with her. And she certainly never thought he’d turn out to be a member of the world-famous Heartbreakers band, Alec.

Then Felicity uncovers a shocking family secret. Suddenly, she, Alec, and her two best friends are off on a road trip to find Felicity’s missing sister. And she’s about to discover that unexpected turns have a peculiar way of landing her right where she needs to be…

 

Ali Novak gave me life these last few days! I listened to the heartbreakers right before I started reading Paper hearts! Both of which were so stinking cute.

This installments follows Alec our stoic silent type. I was so excited to hear hi s story especially since we saw glimpse of how his father treated him and the boys in the first book. On that note I have to say I wanted more of Alec, his life, his father, his past and I feel like we did not get that. We got a lot of Felicity’s (our main lady love in this installment) back story because she was the main POV of the book. I really hope we get to see more what happens with Alec and the band after the new direction he took for himself. 

Felicity was a good character, I did not love her as much as Stella but she still had great moments. This story followed her on her, two friends, and Alec on their hunt for her sister. Some how took a more serious tone than the first. Because of this we did not see the heartbreakers together as often. However when we did it was so fun! Fels friends also brought more laughter to the group when everyone was all together.

I really liked reading these two books. I laughed out loud so many times! Reading these is like watching a teen romcom and I LOVE IT! Paper Hearts was an awesome next installment. It did lack in a few spots for me but all together it was a 3.75 stars. If I had just a little more Alec I would have bumped it to four. I recommend this series to anyone who loves YA and laughing!!!

 

flower_heartflower_heartflower_heart

Leave a Reply

