Reviews

Review : Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha, #1) : Tomi Adeyemi

34728667

Author: Tomi Adeyemi

 

Title: Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha, #1)

Release Date: March 6th, 2018

Format: ARC

 

 

Publisher: Henry Holt Books for Young Readers

Page Count: 448

Genre : Young Adult , Dystopia, Romance, Fantasy, Empowering

Reviewer : Taylor

 

Synopsis Via Goodreads

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls. 

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good. 

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

Review :

OH MY LANTA! This book was the best read I have had this year. We do not deserve all of it’s amazing. I was blessed enough to meet Tomi at yallfest, she is so beautiful and eloquent in person. Due to that I knew I had to get my hands on this. Shout out to Netgalley for making it possible. 

This book had so much EMPOWERMENT. We self, women, culture, and so much more as far as empowerment. It was beautiful and rich to see the strength Tomi put into this book.

It follows the POV of three characters Zèlie, Princess Amari and her brother Prince Inan. Through them we see the entire story from every point of view. What do I mean by this? Prince Inan is our antagonist, it is not very often we get to see that side of the story. I am also in love with him. No one can tell me it is wrong! Amari has one of the best character arcs I have ever read in a book. She grows from a broken girl into a strong proud woman. Seeing it happen is so rewarding. Zèlie so many perfectly imperfect things about her. She carries a wait of so many things on her shoulder from the start of this book. She is a little crass and insubordinate with the government because they do not deserve her respect. From the start, she knew her people deserved more than the pain and suffering they received. She was strong, she ever gave up but she was not always sure she could win BUT be damned if she wouldn’t try. That was one of the best most human things about her. Her brother Tzain is also on this journey with them. He was an amazing character to follow as well and his arc connects the story in so many ways. 

While this book is set in a fictional land it has so many undertones of things happening our world today. My booktube partner said it better than I could see passage below. 

“Even though the book is supposed to be written in a different world than ours, it is clear to see some of our current situation reflected in this book. Even though every character in this book is black, there’s a lot of racism against the maji, which are noticeably distinguished by their white hair. The maji are treated like the worst of society, they are made into slaves, captured and tortured all because one day their magic might become powerful enough to eradicate the kingdom. There’s also a serious correlation with the BLM movement, which I don’t know if the author did that on purpose or not, but after I read this quote, BLM immediately came to mind, (Not Spoiler, I promise),

“Your people, your guards–they’re nothing more than killers, rapists, and thieves. The only difference between them and criminals is the uniforms they wear.” “

You can read her full review here

I feel like this book also applies to the way our government is being run on late the same way it corresponds with what Denia wrote. 

This is a BIG first book 448 pages of big. Denia and I called it a bible due to size. I usually am of the mind your debut first book of a series should be shorter SO NOT THE CASE THIS TIME. I would have been happy with 448 more pages. The wait for the next book is going to hurt! I recommend this book to every breathing human in the world. Best read of this year. 

 

FAIRY

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Review : Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha, #1) : Tomi Adeyemi”

  1. Hey girl, yaaassss make it work. I love this review and I love how you correlated the king to our current president and their political situation to our political situation. I can’t believe I missed that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s