Reviews

REVIEW : Something Like Gravity : Amber Smith

Title: Something Like Gravity

Author:  Amber Smith 

Release Date: June 18, 2019

Format: E Arc

Publisher:  Margaret K. McElderry Books

Page Count : 400

Genre : Young Adult, Contemporary

Synopsis

For fans of Love, Simon and Eleanor and Park, a romantic and sweet novel about a transgender boy who falls in love for the first time—and how first love changes us all—from New York Times bestselling author Amber Smith.

Chris and Maia aren’t off to a great start.

A near-fatal car accident first brings them together, and their next encounters don’t fare much better. Chris’s good intentions backfire. Maia’s temper gets the best of her.

But they’re neighbors, at least for the summer, and despite their best efforts, they just can’t seem to stay away from each other.

The path forward isn’t easy. Chris has come out as transgender, but he’s still processing a frightening assault he survived the year before. Maia is grieving the loss of her older sister and trying to find her place in the world without her. Falling in love was the last thing on either of their minds.

But would it be so bad if it happened anyway? 


This book was very refreshing. It is a dual POV changing in chapters. The characters never got muddy at all, even if the chapters did not tell you who was talking you would know. They each had such clear distinct voices. 

I loved how much Maia accepted Chris straight out the gate. I feel like it was all done so well. The sex scene was done so well too especially the constant “is this okay” and “you can touch here but not here” felt so accurate. 

I wish that Maia had developed just a little more but hey that’s grief. She is doing her best with a family who is living in denial, it is no wonder she is not healthy or mature. I am very happy that they made some leaps toward the end of the book. 

Chris was so real and authentic. His character development was SO AMAZING that is all. His parents, well mostly mother, made me so damn mad. I was so over them being shitty. The dad tried but should have stood up for him more. Again, though they made leaps at the end of the story but I wish it had happened a little sooner. 

Also the end just gutted me even though it is super realistic. Four Stars.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s