Reviews, Taylor

Review : Everything Everything : Nicola Yoon

18692431Title : Everything Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Release Date: September 1st 2015

Format: Harcover

Publisher:  Delacorte Books/  Random House

Page Count : 306

Genre : Young Adult, romance, contemporary

Reviewer : Taylor

 

Synopsis Via Goodreads

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

I finally decided to read this! I had been wanting to but had pushed it back countless times on my TBR. With the trailer having come out this week it was finally time. 

DO NOT WATCH THE TRAILER IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE BOOK
Because spoiler alert the trailer spoilers are plentiful it pretty much spark notes the whole book. 

I really ended up liking this but it wasn’t what I thought it would be. Maddy is sick from a rare disease that know can cure. She has lived her life locked away with very LIMITED social interaction. Her mother is extremely protective and will do anything to keep her alive. Maddy hears the moving trucks and in comes Olly. They talk through the window, exchange emails, and so it begins. All of this I understood but here are some things that threw me off. 
ONE the mom never seemed to do anything to give her daughter a semi normal life. The all white everything, COME ON that is not helpful when trying to keep her spirits up. At first I thought it had to white because it was cleaner Maddy at one point say’s

“In my white room, against my white walls, on my glistening white bookshelves, book spines provide the only color”

BUT then Olly comes in and the girl is buying colored shirts and shoes. WHY did you not do that to start with? I have no idea why this bugged me but at last it did. 

OKAY back on track here I loved Olly and his side plot. I think that his story line was an important one to tell because everyday people who sometimes you would least expect suffer with something like that. The relationship between then was EVERYTHING I loved them. YAY for diverse characters and relationships! I love her realizing that to actually live would be a better adventure then to waste away without knowing life. A lot of people thought that she was selfish for acting that way but I think that having never had a chance to truly live one weekend would be worth the risk. 

The twist ending I kind of saw it coming but I wasn’t sure. I thought a certain someone seemed off the whole time but I wasn’t sure. I still really liked the end again it touched on a tough subject. All in all I really liked this book 4 stars

★★★★

Favorite Quote

“Spoiler alert : Love is worth everything. Everything”

 

Untitled.png

2 thoughts on “Review : Everything Everything : Nicola Yoon”

Leave a comment